HTML5 Beta and PG Christmas Event 2020

Merry Christmas! The Christmas event is currently on in Puppet Guardian (and Magicaloss)! This will be a short post, but before I talk about it, some other interesting things have happened regarding the game.

HTML5 Beta

Firstly, the HTML5 version has been released! Well, the beta version, that is. The game systems have been relocated to a new server. This started last month and finished in a week so everything was under maintenance for quite a long time. After that, the HTML5 version was made available and it can be accessed by adding the query string ?html5=1 to request the HTML5 web page. It was quite an exciting addition, though it’s certainly not without issues (quite a lot, unfortunately). Though it’s technically playable, there’s quite a lot of bugs to be encountered, such as the inability to use shortcuts and missing game data. Animations can also be quite buggy, particularly spell effects which will cause crashes depending on what spell you cast. However, as of writing this, an update has recently been pushed to the game and it seems like the issues I’ve had with some spells have been fixed (snow storm and crushing bullet).

I believe quite a lot of these come from simple mistakes in the JavaScript code and these can be fixed quite easily. The bugs seem to cause a domino effect of sorts, with errors causing other errors along the line so hopefully fixing some errors would also fix other ones.

In any case, for now, it’s been recommended to play using the Flash version and the developers are doing their best to polish the game and fix the bugs. The development blog posts progress reports on bug fixing every Saturday 19:00 (JST). Event with all the ongoing issues, the HTML5 version does offer a huge improvement over the Flash version which is the performance in reference to the fps. As a result, inputs are significantly more responsive. I’ve tried using a shield to fight Garm and it felt really good to be able to block almost instantly as opposed to having a significant amount of input response delay.

Christmas Event

I don’t know why there’s a skeleton dog here…

As always, Gateau and Chocolat have come back to the Celestial Castle to celebrate Christmas. Gateau asks for help in building the Christmas tree and Chocolat offers quests to obtain the green “Christmas Elf” set. Over the past few days, Gateau asked for:

  • 50,000 Fresh Creams
  • 30,000 Thunder Crystals
  • 40,000 Iron
  • 50,000 Holy Yarn
  • 30,000 Candy Canes
  • 80,000 Snowballs

Fresh Cream, Holy Yarn and Snowballs can be obtained from the collection points that appeared in the main celestial castle area with snow (the area with towers 1 to 4). The first two are from the collection points with presents. Incidentally, it seems that you can get Diamond Fragment from these presents!

I had 4 Diamond Fragments in my warehouse so I was able to synthesise a Diamond! I’m planning to use it to make a Blizzard Book for one of Varvara’s quests.

I don’t actually know what the Fresh Cream is for, other than you can consume them to heal 1 HP point, but the Holy Yarn can be synthesised into some winter and Christmas themed clothes.

The Christmas tree actually got completed today as of writing this (actually, yesterday if we’re talking about the actual game time/Japan time)! I wasn’t able to contribute to all stages, but I was able to contribute some stacks of items. Gateau gives reward items when you donate, but this isn’t guaranteed and the probability is on a 1:1 relation to the number of items you give. Giving only 1 item will give you a 1% chance of receiving the reward and 99 will give you a 99% chance of receiving it. I believe most of the reward items were healing items. I was able to get a few Christmas socks (which are actually shields, lol) and 2 Candy Cane Swords. The shields are actually quite useful as they block darkness elemental attacks. All items can also be synthesised into Christmas furniture.

I got 4 kinds of rewards! The Candy Cane Swords are in my warehouse.

Here are a few images of the tree building progress:

This is what the finished tree looks like!

I mentioned this at the beginning but for some reason, there were dogs in the castle!

There were these dogs…
…and these ones!

I don’t know if it’s supposed to happen but it’s quite a bizarre sight (the skeleton dog especially). You can attack them and they attack you, but there is, of course, no damage dealt.

Update: The Christmas plush bear present for 2020 has been given out!

It’s my first time getting one!

Revisiting Shasura

Since it’s the holidays and I’m able to, I thought I’d open a few chests. I got an unexpected Christmas present! I was able to get the 5 back dice ring!

I decided to visit Shasura in stage 9 as it’s been years since I’ve seen him last time in the English version (in fact, it’s probably been more than 10 years!) I had to wait a while after getting the ring though. I thought the ring only required 1 of each gem point but apparently it needs 3 so it’s quite costly to use… The least amount of gem points that I have are emerald points, of which I only have 15 of.

Shasura sure has a lot of HP…
It’s been a while since I’ve seen his spell animations. They look pretty cool, but unless you’re using a ranged weapon or casting spells from afar, he won’t hit you with them.
I thought he’d have much less HP than he actually does (lol).
I finally defeated him after a long fight.

It was a really long fight as I had a hard time hitting him due to his charge attacks. My weapons’ damage were also reduced considerably so critical hits only do little damage (it was hard charging up my mace fully, too).

After all that, these were what I got:

I’m never going to the ruined spots again (lol). I was expecting a gem fragment, but I guess I got blinded by my luck at getting the dice ring.

Leave a comment