Late Summer Festival Event 2020

A festival is currently happening in PG! As usual, it is a repeat event, though some new items have been added. Incidentally, some days ago, an update on the Ragnarok tournament was posted on the official artifact blog showing the rewards for the winners. It looks like they’ve managed to tackle the tournament problems! There is also a small bit at the end promising a progress report on the HTML5 transition. That’s a really interesting news—hopefully, things are going well on that end.

Anyway, I hadn’t played PG for a long time so I had no idea what the event adds. It took quite a long time to look around but it seems like the event takes place mainly in stage 2. Compared to the last event, this provided a bit of a relief.

Apart from the new “stages” (boss arenas) and the stage 2 changes, the only other feature added was the new NPC. I’m not quite sure what he’s called, but I believe his name and title is something like: Pyrotechnician Tamaya.

If I remember correctly, he gives 11 quests, all of which is to help him with preparing the fireworks. Most quests require event related items, though some can be as simple as giving 10 Gunpowder. There were also two quests where I had to tame Kappas with Cucumber that you could collect from the last spot of stage 2.

There were so many cucumbers in that container but alas, you could only collect from it once (unless you travel back and forth repeatedly). Some of the decorations weren’t collection points, unfortunately, like that tub of cold Ramune.

I don’t know exactly which enemies drop which item as I just tried to hoard as many as possible. I think I’ve collected a decent number of each, apart from those you can get from the bosses.

Oh! By the way, the event reintroduced some old pets. One of that was the fox which I believe is called Zenko (善狐)? Anyway, it’s really small and cute. I tried to fight the urge to get it… and I failed.

It’s sooooo small! Pressing the Pet button command will make it come to you and perch on your shoulder.

I have to say that while it is a cute pet, it doesn’t seem to want to do anything most of the time, particularly with collecting items. It does have a pretty cool attack where it transforms into some sort of animal statue (tanuki?). It’s a slow attack with limited range, but as far as I can tell, it can inflict vertigo and poison.

By the way, there was also another pet that I couldn’t help but get…

It’s called Amabie (アマビエ) and while it looks strange at first, I’ve come to think of it as cute as well (in a way). Apparently it’s a mermaid/merman! I wanted to get it mostly because it can inflict Holy (the Holy Water effect). The Holy Book and all the items that can inflict Holy require items from the Requiem Event so I thought getting it is a way to get around waiting for the event. I wanted to be able to inflict Holy because Kappas drop a special item (which I think is called a Medicine Ball?) as a conditional drop. Unfortunately, because it’s a pet, it’s hard to reliably inflict Holy because of three things: the effect is not guaranteed; only one of its attacks can inflict Holy and Zenko often defeats Kappas before Amabie does.

Apart from some enemies being replaced by their event counterparts like the Kobold, there are also new enemies in stage 2, like these Shikigami which I found annoying to deal with. Not only is its HP high for what it is (a piece of paper), its attack can also inflict vertigo.

There are Kappas, as well! When one is tamed, its colour changes into green.

All of the new enemies (apart from the boss, of course) drifts around the map.

The bears also have their costumes on! I know for certain what they drop, apart from Leather but I believe they also drop pieces of the target circles they wear. Unfortunately, I had to throw away a lot of Leather because my warehouse is already full of them.

The shrine takes you to a stage that’s, well, inside a shrine. It’s a boss stage, similar to that of Memories of the White Lion.

I actually don’t know what the boss’ name is but I call it Chagama Tanuki.

It can be quite a difficult boss, especially with its “boil” attack that deals a lot of damage (see the previous image). I managed to get defeated by the boss a few times, actually (despite the HP boost that I have lol).

The pets that I got really helped a lot in fighting enemies, regardless of whether it’s a boss or a normal enemy. Incidentally, their names are the same: they’re both Main/Myne (マイン) which is from my favourite light novel (there’s also an anime adaptation) “Ascendance of a Bookworm” (本好きの下剋上). I made sure not to make the mistake of having different names for them like I did with two of my frogs which are a pain to summon.

Again, I’m not sure what exactly it drops. I do know that it drops Tea Leaves which Tamaya (the quest NPC) requires. It’s probably the hardest quest that he gives because it’s an uncommon/rare drop and I believe he wanted 10 of them.

All scrolls are portals to other boss stages. The left one leads to this stage where you fight this cat which I also don’t know the name of.

The right scroll takes you to this stage with strange-looking enemies. It’s safe to say they’re also yokai creatures.

The umbrella ones are easy to take down. However, the slime-looking one seems to be immune to any element so I had to shoot it down with my gun. By the way, I managed to change my gun into the one that inflict paralysis instead of petrification.

As you’ll probably notice, the last scroll—the centre scroll— is larger than the others. If you look closely, you’ll see a drawing of a skeleton…

That’s right. Inside is a humongous skeleton creature that’s similar to Jörmungandr from the 19th level of the Cave of Trials.

He looks bigger than Jörmungandr, though. It’s HP is really high which is to be expected. My pets also helped; sometimes they’d inflict vertigo and sleep it.

Oh, I forgot to mention one thing that’s really cool and useful about my Amabie pet: it seems to be able to regenerate HP! I’m not sure what the conditions are, but I’ve noticed it regenerate to up to one less than its maximum HP a lot of times. Sometimes it doesn’t so I’m confused as to how it works. I also forgot to mention its water attack which is a small AoE attack that can sleep enemies.

Initially, it was difficult to defeat this boss solo. The pets help, but they’re quite weak. I was also trying to keep my pets alive a lot of the time because they got hit quite often. I was also fighting the boss from the front and/or underneath it during the early days of the event. Thanks to other players, I found out you could just hit it from behind so only its magic fire attack can hit you. It can still be dodged, though, so it was really easy to just press z whenever it readies up this attack.

After completing Tamaya’s quests, he tells you when the fireworks will be set off. During those days, you can play the animation whenever by simply re-entering the area.

I can’t remember when the dates are, but I took this image during the first firework day. It was a pretty cool fireworks display (though the frames drop massively whenever it plays lol).

So that’s it for this event! I believe the next event in schedule is Halloween. I’m really interested in the progress report regarding the HTML5 transition so that’s something I’m looking forward to.

Leave a comment